Incoming Graceland students for Fall 2022 –

Pay Your Deposit

Graceland University Nurses Honored at the 2015 Nurse of the Year Awards


Administration and Staff, Faculty, Press Release

December 2, 2015

Graceland University Nurses Honored at the 2015 Nurse of the Year Awards
Winner Shawnna Cooper Jackson ’98 (pictured right) with Dean Claudia Horton at the March of Dimes Award Banquet.

Shawnna Jackson ’98, Tina Ross and Becky Captain of Graceland University were recently honored at the 2015 Nurse of the Year Awards by the Greater Kansas Chapter of March of Dimes. Nurses who demonstrate excellence and leadership in the field of nursing were recognized at a gala event on Friday, Nov. 13, at the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel in Overland Park, Kansas, where patients, families and colleagues gather to honor the selflessness, dedication and passion of area nurses.

Jackson, who is the Public Health Manager with the City of Independence Health Department, received the award in Public Health/Ambulatory Care. Jackson is on the Graceland School of Nursing’s (SON) Community Advisory Board and teaches in the online RN-BSN (registered nurse to Bachelor of Science in Nursing) program.

Ross was a finalist in the Long-Term Care/Rehabilitation/Geriatrics category. Ross is a wound care specialist at The Groves Retirement Center in Independence and is currently a student on the Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) track in the Graceland University Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) program.

Captain was a finalist in the Advanced Practice category. She is a new member on the SON’s Community Advisory Board and practices in the Cardio Health and Wellness Center in the St. Luke’s Healthcare system.

From neonatal and pediatric care to mental health and advanced practice, these awards recognize the contribution that nurses are making in their communities. Nurses are honored from across the Greater Kansas City area, whose strength, courage and perseverance advance their profession

The March of Dimes received 664 nominations and 471 applications across 21 diverse categories. A distinguished selection committee comprised of health care professionals selected finalists and Nurse of the Year Award recipients in each category.

Graceland is proud of these excellent nurses for the exceptional care they provide for their patients and community and for the recognition they bring to the Graceland School of Nursing.

Related News

Administration and Staff, Press Release

Graceland Mourns the Loss of Ambassador John Menzies

March 30, 2022

Learn More

Administration and Staff, Press Release

Dr. Joel Shrock Named Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty

March 29, 2022

Learn More

Administration and Staff, Alumni

Graceland Announces Institutional Advancement Changes

February 1, 2022

Learn More

Administration and Staff

Roger Powell Publishes OER Peer-Reviewed Article

November 2, 2021

Roger Powell, PhD ’12, director of writing center and institutional tutoring at Graceland University, has published an open educational resource (OER) peer-reviewed article about growth mindsets.

Learn More

Administration and Staff

Ginelle Sakima Roberts Joins the Graceland Development Team

October 25, 2021

“It feels like the right time for me to focus on a different area of service and I wanted to be a part of the dynamic leadership team that is pursuing great things for Graceland.”

Learn More

Administration and Staff, Alumni, Press Release

Graceland Promotes Deb Skinner to Vice President for Enrollment Management and Strategic Growth

September 15, 2021

Learn More